Tuesday, July 16, 2019

Don't Tell Donald.

This year is the fiftieth anniversary of the World Series of Poker.  The Main Event, as it came to be called as more games were added over the years, is down to the last three players.  And one thing we know for sure, the winner this year will not be an American.  Current chip leader Hossein Ensan is an Iranian who has lived in Germany since 1990.  In second is Halifax native Alex Livingston.  In third place is Italian poker pro Dario Sammartino.  The last American player was Garry Gates, who will have to console himself with the 3 million bucks of a fourth place finish.

This won't be the first time a non-American has won the big prize.  The first was Iranian born, London based Mansour Matloubi back in 1990.  Jonathan Duhamel became the first Canadian winner in 2010.  And Swede Martin Jacobsen was the last non-American to win, back in 2014.

So please, don't tell Donald Trump.  He'll just go on a big rant about foreigners taking over "America's game," stealing American money etc. 

No comments: